28.07.15  After checking into Marlon’s Guest House here in Arequipa on the 14.07.15 I’ve been incapacitated and bed bound ever since Puno. Apparently I’ve sprained the ligaments in my left foot following a fall in the last few steps of a five hundred and forty step descent. I’ve been told that it could take up to a couple of months to repair and the swelling go down….bummer!! Hey ho…anyhow I’m much better on my feet now after a couple of weeks bed rest. Having ventured out into Arequipa old town and  the square I’ve come to the conclusion that it is the best town yet from an architectural perspective.

Beautiful baroque architecture.

Beautiful baroque architecture.

IMG_0743

The main square with vaulted ceilings over the public footpath.

IMG_0750The Spanish colonial period (1540)buildings are just beautiful. The restaurants and public spaces delightful, and the weather has been clear skies and sunny day after day.  The metropolitan area of Arequipa is populated by 869,351 people and the elevation some 2335m (7661 ft.). Four volcanoes surround the city, Misti, Pikchu Pikchu and Chachani. None are active however, they provide a beautiful backdrop to the town.

On a completely different tack, I have also had some route canal work done here at “Happy Dentist” which certainly made me happy as the fee he charged was substantially less than what I would have paid back in “Blighty”.

 

